

MINISTRY OF WATERWAYS AND ENVIRONMENT

Press Release

318 TOORAK ROAD, BALI TOWER, SUVA P O BOX 1292, SUVA

Phone: (679) 3383155 Fax: (679) 3383546

August 2020

Attention: Chief-of-Staff

For immediate Release

Nineteen Sea-Wall to be constructed for Coastal Protection

A total of 19 seawall will be constructed for the 19 communities around the country by the Ministry of Waterways and Environment in the 2020/2021 financial year.

This was relayed by the Minister for Waterways, Environment and Agriculture Hon. Dr. Mahendra Reddy in Rakiraki today.

Dr. Reddy said the construction works on various coastal protection projects will commence soon in the Northern, Western and Eastern division by the Ministry of Waterways and Environment.

He says these projects will help build the resilience to coastal communities on the impact of climate-induced coastal erosion, storm surge, and coastal flooding.

Minister Reddy reiterated that the project will be done through the nature base solution that will be protected by the nature based boulder -seawall, with multiple rows of mangroves as the "first line of defense" to the boulder seawall, while diffusing wave energy, and the vetiver grass as a "last line of defence" to protect land from erosion and inundation, during the storm surge

"To address, mitigate these we need cost-effective solutions. We need an integrated solution involving a hybrid of "grey-green" infrastructure, and inclining towards nature-based solutions in years ahead.

"The solutions lie in nature itself and innovations, if implemented will bring more, and more diverse, nature, and natural features and processes to address our environmental problem, through locally adapted, resource-efficient, and systemic interventions.

Minister Reddy said, this project will have direct benefit to the 19 communities across Fiji and will be undertaken by the engineers of the Waterways and Environment Ministry necessitating outside contractors.

He said the project will be constructed within the 12 months' time while similar projects will be done in other village which is not in the list after the current project is completed.

"We will do similar projects for all the villages in the country until all the villages, coastal communities are protected and safeguarded," said Minister Reddy.

The 19 nature based seawalls across the country is divided into three divisions – 8 for the Northern division, 4 in the Western division and 6 in the Eastern division in the Maritime areas.

Northern Division			
Order of Priority	Name of Village	Province/District	Estimated Length
1	Raviravi Village	Macuata	160m
2	Naividamu Village	Macuata	150m
3	Drekeniwai Village	Cakaudrove	200m
4	Navunievu Village	Bua	250m
5	Visoqo Village	Macuata	200m
6	Nabubu Village	Macuata	140m
7	Lakeba Village	Cakaudrove	360m
8	Natewa Health Centre	Cakaudrove	250m
1	Viseisei Village	Ва	550m
2	Nabukadra Village	Ra	300m
3	Vaidoko Village	Ra	90m
4	Verevere Village	Ra	150m
Maritime Islands			
1	Rukua Village	Beqa Island, Rewa	300m
2	Soliyaga Village	Beqa Island, Rewa	250m
3	Nawaisomo Village	Beqa Island, Rewa	300m
4	Daliconi Village	Lau	200m
5	Namalata Village	Lau	200m
6	Avea Village	Lau	200m